h1

Summer Movies

May 29, 2007

Hey all,

Went and saw “Pirates 3″ yesterday and thought it was great! Saw the previews for “Transformers” and, as much as I want to mock it, it looks like it might be good.

Okay, I’m going out on a limb (and setting myself up for massive abuse, I’m sure) but I’ll post a few verses I wrote years back about summer movies. But first of all, I wanted to get your thoughts on this summers upcoming attractions.

The top three I’m looking forward to…

1.  “Ocean’s 13“:  Okay the 2nd movie sucked, we all know that, but I’m really hoping they get back to the fun of 11.

2. “Live Free or Die Hard” (Die Hard 4): Because I just…love…the diehard movies. Even the bad one (2) was awesome.

3. “The Bourne Ultimatum“: See #2

What about you guys? What are you looking forward to?

Okay, so about the poem.

When I was a kid we used to buy a roll of tickets every summer and go see old (or older) movies once a week at the Gresham Theater. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Pippy Longstockings, The Black Stallion…same movies every summer.

Loved it.

We very seldom went to “new” movies, as they were out of our budget, so this was our big “summer treat” every year.

Sooo…if poetry makes you gag, stop reading here. If not, you were warned:

-Perk

I Remember Summer Movies

I remember summer movies,Dust and dripping butter in the humid gloom
Long hot walks on burning concrete, bus fare saved for cokes.
Dressed in k-mart clothes.

The old theater, past her prime. A tired starlet of better days.
Wrinkles showed through each years paintWorn red carpet, thinned by a million Keds,
the only air conditioner we knew.

My first friends I met there,Pippy Longstocking, Herbie, Black beauty, Benji.
Unworthy of the shining, unsoiled multiplex,
Scorned, the dollar show, we understood.

That long roll of paper tickets, faded cherry-slurpie red,were our Hawaii,
our Disneyland on twenty bucks,beneath the stained and flickering screen.

Ma laughed and cried in the same places every year.
Ninety minutes of escape, from her thirsty, monochrome world.
Did I really love the movies?
Or that they gave her something to give to me?
Both, I think.

Leave a Reply

