h1

Just Past Oysterville: Shoalwater Book One

October 2, 2006

jpovcover.jpg

Just Past Oysterville: Shoalwater Book One

Paperback: 260 pages
Publisher: WingSpan Press
ISBN-10: 1595941150

A child abandoned.  A life destroyed.
Two hearts, unable to forgive…

When a drunk driver leaves Cassie Belanger an orphan, a cryptic letter, found among her mother’s belongings sends her on a journey across the country in hopes of finding the man who fathered her but chose not to be her father.

Driven by her anger, her bitterness and her desire to confront the man who abandoned her, Cassie meets Jack, a crusty old bachelor headed in the same direction. In his face Cassie begins to see what can happen to a heart that refuses to forgive.

Will she forgive her father, or turn away from him and remain an orphan?

Who is Jack, and how is his own shadowed past linked to her own?

Will Cassie Belanger find the power that lies in forgiveness and the miracle of God’s unwavering desire for our salvation?

The answers lie… Just Past Oysterville.

Read Chapter One

Reviews

Visit the Bookstore!

11 comments

  1. Even before I read JUST PAST OYSTERVILLE, I knew Perry Perkins was an amazing writer from reading his short stories, but this book placed him permanently within the group of authors whose books I will buy immediately upon release.

    This book is so much more than the usual hyper-censored, unrealistic story to be found in Christian fiction. The characters are real people with strengths and weaknesses, and they live real lives filled with anguish, love, mistakes, and triumphs. And the underlying message of God’s love is relayed so effortlessly and so poignantly that it comes through loud and clear and leaves the reader with such a wonderful feeling of hope–just the way I believe Jesus would have done it.

    I encourage everyone who loves a good story to read this book, and I can’t wait to read the next installment in the series!


  2. I am a leader of teen girls & a mom of three teens. I would recomend this book to all the teens I work with and my own! I cried I laughed & was on the edge of my seat! This is a must that will not disapoint you. Enjoy and give it away as a Christmas, birthday or just because gift. You will be as thrilled as I was.

    Becky


  3. I loved the book. I would recommend it to all. Please read it.


  4. Not since Les Miserables has there been a novel with such a powerful message of REDEMPTION. Author, Perry P Perkins, has staked a claim to literature immortality with this fine novel.
    The tragic life a young women and her story of loss, recovery and redemption are epic and beautifully written. It was the best $20 I’ve spent in a long time.

    My regards to Mr. Perkins and I look forward to book two!


  5. BRILLIANT FIRST IN SHOALWATER SERIES!!!!!, May 17, 2004

    JUST PAST OYSTERVILLE shares with the reader the story of Cassie who has just lost her Mother in tragic circumstances. Determined to track down her Father whom she has never known, she sets out on her journey. Whilst on her travels to find her Father, she meets Jack, an interesting character, who has carried around a lot of emotional baggage of his own for a lot of years! As well as being a physical journey, it is also a journey from anger and bitterness to forgiveness and peace and although it is a work of Christian Fiction, would have a message for anyone struggling with the problems that Cassie and Jack have carried around with them for so long.

    The story has all the ingredients of a good suspense novel and fans of DEE HENDERSON or TERRI BLACKSTOCK, I think, would find this very enjoyable.

    I for one can’t wait for the second book in the series to be published!

    Thanks Perry for a great story!


  6. I thoroughly enjoyed every page. There was not once where I knew what was going to happen next. Every time I thought I could predict anything I found myself to be wrong. A sign of very good writing in my humble opinion. It was a very exciting, thought provoking book.

    This was a book that was difficult to put down and I was sorry to see it end. Fortunately I hear part two is coming soon and I will be the first in line to get a copy!

    If you’re looking for a great book, be it a novel or a lesson in forgiveness, look no further. You won’t be disappointed.


  7. I really want to read this book- my very own sister’s name is Cassie Bellanger!


  8. […] Perry P. Perkins was born and raised in Oregon.  His writing includes the inspirational novels: “Just Past Oysterville,” “Shoalwater Voices,” and the eBook, “The Light at the End of the Tunnel.” Perry is a […]


  9. […] Perry P. Perkins was born and raised in Oregon.  His writing includes the inspirational novels: “Just Past Oysterville,” “Shoalwater Voices,” and the eBook, “The Light at the End of the Tunnel.” Perry is a […]


  10. […] titled: “More Than Oysters: A Tour of Oysterville.” If you’ve read “Just Past Oysterville” or “Shoalwater Voices” and would like to know more about the amazing history of […]


  11. […] you’ve read “Just Past Oysterville” or “Shoalwater Voices” and would like to know more about the amazing history of […]



Leave a Reply

